Can you talk?

Some time back , I had an interesting realization about myself –  I cannot talk. I know it sounds odd but that is the truth when it comes to making conversations. Have you ever felt that you cannot make a conversation with people? That after like first few Hi, how are you?’s , there is not much to continue with. As I get older, I realize I am having trouble having conversation with people that do not know me well or understand me. I have a couple of friends and my brother to whom I can talk about different topics, have debates, have intense conversations but when it comes to others, I am tongue tied! As a teacher, I can have lots of deep and meaningful conversations with my students. I am able to converse with my kids better than adults. Now, is it a teacher syndrome, I have no clue!

I have people who call me and I respect their willingness to talk but if I say something, they don’t understand me or get me. Their immediate reaction is to give a general advice that they give everyone. And I want to say, well, that is not what I meant; thanks for talking to me but I think I am done. And then they still want to linger on and maybe ask the same question again.

I don’t know if I am getting picky but now, I want to only talk to people to whom I can relate to as well people who can relate to me. Even if they don’t agree with me, I would rather listen to their argument and their counter attack than anyone’s general advice!

Has it happened to you yet?? 😉

3 thoughts on “Can you talk?

  1. I was always like that. I guess, you may feel more so because you were a talkative person. But then experiences in your lifetime influence your personality, behavior pattern and your perceptions. Just be comfortable in your own skin and i.e. more important.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

