Kindness and trust??

I was talking to my family’s Watsapp group about kindness and how it goes a long way. One cousin send this story about a lady who took a girl from a train and gave her education and a way of life. Heart warming story!!! Right?? One of my cousin says, I am not sure I can do something like that today considering that today’s world is so messed up that we don’t whom to trust and whom not to. She said as I was reading that story I was hoping in my heart that this girl won’t back-stab the lady. And it really did spark a debate in my mind – isn’t it true? How many of us won’t mind helping a youngster out but then we don’t know what we are getting back? We hear these stories every day about molestation, burglary, rape and murder and most of them by people who were trusted by the victims. When the world has come to such a stage where we can’t even trust the people we know, can we trust total strangers??

I do charity and have worked with shelters and such but I am not sure about a random act of kindness where I would bring another human being home.

This topic could lead to many questions as to – is this the reason why we see people not compassionate enough…is humanity heading in the wrong direction because one-act of crime from one person who was helped has created a scar for everyone else? I am sure there are many people who would want to extend that helping hand to a complete stranger whose plight moves them but they are stopped by a barrier that they are not able to cross. So do we just go with our heart or our mind in this case??

One thought on “Kindness and trust??

Leave a Reply

